Areas Impacted:
•Economic Development, Trade, and Industry
•Conflict, Crime Prevention and Security
•Governance, Partnerships and Institutional Development
•Innovation, Entrepreneurship and Social Impact
Health and Well Being
•Gender Equality, Empowerment and Inclusion
•Agriculture, Food Systems, and Natural Resources
•Internet, Communication, Etc.

ALDC Division Evaluation

UNCTAD, which is governed by 194 member States, is the United Nations body responsible for dealing with economic and sustainable development issues with a focus on trade, finance, investment and technology. It helps developing countries to participate equitably in the global economy. Its work can be summed up in three words: think, debate, deliver.

In 2018, DE conducted an Independent thematic evaluation of UNCTAD’s Africa, Least Developed Countries and other Special needs Countries Division in light of the UN reforms and its Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) agenda. The evaluation used mixed methods including qualitative and quantitative data analysis, interviews and surveys. UNCTAD’s Division for Africa, Least Developed Countries and Special Programmes (ALDC) is vested with the substantive responsibility for Sub-programme 5 (SP5), which aims "to promote development of national policies and international support measures to build productive capacities for economic development and poverty reduction in Africa, LDCs and other groups of countries in special situations and to progressively and beneficially integrate them into the global economy."